Community Forum

Internet connection intermittent

Frequent Visitor

Internet connection intermittent

So we had our service installed two weeks ago - and after a rough initial weekend it seemed a 2nd service visit got us up and running. Until this week, when it's been dropping off and on. Is this just how Xfinity is? Inconsistent?

We're also waiting for our new underground line to be placed - which we were told would be '7 to 14 days' and NOTHING has happened in that regard. No update, no progress, zip...

So far very disappointed in Xfinity...

Expert

Re: Internet connection intermittent

What do the modem's signal stats look like ? Try getting them here http://192.168.100.1 or here http://10.0.0.1

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.

What is the exact make and model number of the modem ?

Is this a WiFi connection ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

No upstream data available (no connection)... Downstream is 3.0 dbmv... SNR is 42. CGM4140COM model (xfi gateway). Got someone coming tomorrow, but if there's anything to do for now, I'll try it...
Frequent Visitor

Up and running... upstream at 59... downstream 1.5 to 2...SNR around 42...
Expert

The upstream power is out of spec. See what the tech has to say. Good luck ! Post back with how things turn out

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Official Employee