Community Forum

Internet Signal Strength in dBmv

New Poster

Internet Signal Strength in dBmv

How can I determine Internet Signal Strength in dBmv, at the modem, and if possible, at the house cable input?

Diamond Problem Solver

Re: Internet Signal Strength in dBmv

Signal strength isn’t really measuring internet speed, db is measuring the signal to the modem for it to work. Use a speed test to measure internet speed.
https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Your-Home-Network/Video-10-things-you-can-do-right-now-to-fix-your-int...

I am a Retired Official Comcast Employee
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark a post as the Best Answer!
Expert

Didn't really see the OP inquire / reference about speed problems. What problems are you having exactly ? What modem do you have ? Is it supplied by Comcast ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Internet speed is not issue. When the weather gets hot, or I reboot the modem, it’s takes hours for the modem to reconnect with the network. A tech informed us that our signal strength was -9dBmv with 0 +\- 15dBmv as spec range. And that signal strength form the network is likely the cause.
Expert

That's low / weak. What do the SNR's and the upstream power level numbers look like ? Try getting them here http://192.168.100.1 or here http://10.0.0.1

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
New Poster

Thanks for helping.