Community Forum

Intermittent DNS/DHCP issues

New Poster

Intermittent DNS/DHCP issues

Intermittent outage that is going to drive me to replace comcast as an internet provider. I randomly stop name resolution. I chatted with an online agent (is this support now gone?). I am an IT pro for over 20 years. He had me check cables, reboot pc, rebooted my gateway, blah blah, blah. I went to a comcast store and replaced  the gateway, still having the issue. Comcast - i need this resolved or next call is to cancel my service. Details below:

image.pngimage.pngimage.png

New Poster

Re: Intermittent DNS/DHCP issues

and the pictures i uploaded are not showing, awesome

Expert

Can't see your pics. Since you are a new poster, they likely need to be approved by a Forum Admin. Or you may need to make a minimum number of posts.

You could try hosting them at one of those free third-party pic hosting sites and post the link to them here.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

@km10982 Your pictures are showing up for me at this point so they should be able to see them now. Also, I've been in IT for over 5 years myself and am running into the exact same issue at seemingly random, but frequent times over the last few weeks. It will be completely fine all day then all of the sudden it will completely lose all WAN connectivity including DNS then come back a minute or a few minute later as of it nothing was wrong. It can happen any time, but it seems to happen primarily, coincidently or not, in the evening between 7PM and 11PM for a few minutes at a time.