Community Forum

Improving SNR

Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Improving SNR

My Motorola MB8600 modem is reporting large numbers of uncorrected errors on channel 8 (Freq 579.0 MHz). The SNR is also low (28.4 d. There is sometimes a lesser problem on channel 9. Is there a way for me to improve the SNR on these channels or to switch to different channels? The screenshot is from shortly after rebooting the modem. My speed degrades over time, seemingly as these errors increase.

xfinity channels.png

Expert

Re: Improving SNR

That's on the UHF frequencies of TV broadcasts. If only one channel were affected, it shouldn't make any appreciable hit on your connectivity, but I also noticed that the downstream power levels are really high, which likely means a wiring issue somewhere. Looks like some basic troubleshooting is needed. Start here, and if you still need assistance, come back with all the information requested in this post

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Expert

@darkangelic wrote:

but I also noticed that the downstream power levels are really high,

Did you mean that they are really low ? Some of the SNR's are on the low side as well. 

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Frequent Visitor

Thanks for your reply. It looks like my wiring may not be up to par. All of the connectors are crimp connectors, not compression connectors, and the cable itself, though unmarked, is .25" in diameter, so I'm thinking it is all RG59 and not RG6.  This applies even to the Comcast cable that is coming into the house (all done decades ago when the only concern was analog TV).