Community Forum

How to Change 5GB Wifi Channel

Regular Visitor

How to Change 5GB Wifi Channel

I would like to change my 5GB channel on theTechnicolor gateway because it appears that I may be getting interference from other networks on on the same channel.  This is a list of 5GB networks using channel 44.  

Screen Shot 2019-06-02 at 7.41.09 AM.png

I am unable to change the channel within the xFi app, the xfninity.com/myxfi website, or within the modm at http://10.0.0.1/wireless_network_configuration.php

Expert

Re: How to Change 5GB Wifi Channel

Sorry, that is not allowed to be done on any xFi Gateways anymore. as far as I'm currently aware of.

The reason is becuase now Mesh Mode is an integral part of xFi and can not be disabled. It automatically manages those settings. Rebooting it might put it on a different channel automatically, it might not.

Are you noticing any significant problems over the 5 GHz wireless?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Visitor

Thank you for the information...

I have two pods located in the house and when I go from the first floor to the second floor I have to stop and start WiFi on the device.   This just recently started happening in the past couple of months. Looking at NetSpot WiFi analyzer I see four different SSID's on the 5GHz band all on channel 157, ( this does not include the two pods in the house).  I thought by changing the channel it might help when moving through the house from having to stop and start the WiFi process on the device.

I will try to reboot the gateway and see if the channel changes.

Silver Problem Solver

That's interesting. I can still change the channels on my XB6 manually, but then I'm not using Pods.

Expert