Community Forum

Hello DarkAngel

Regular Visitor

Hello DarkAngel

Can you walk me through how you set up your Sb8200 with TM722g and added your router?  Mine is a Linksys WRT1900ACS.  Want to use the TM722 for voice and Sb8200 for internet linked to my wireless router.

Expert

Re: Hello DarkAngel

Well, I had to connect each modem to a working cable outlet, made sure they were powered up and working, then called Comcast Activations at 1 (800)-XFINITY , told them I needed to upgrade from my previous device (a leased XB6 gateway)  to an SB8200 for Gigabit Internet and TM722G for Voice only.  Gave them the device MAC ID numbers, then they took care of activation. 

I then connected my (then) ASUS RT-AC68P router to the SB8200, rebooted the modem and the router, and I was up and running in no time. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Visitor

Got it. Just to be clear. Both modems had to be plugged into a cable line at the same time to facilitate the changes with Comcast ?
Regular Visitor

Can I split my line at the wall source and connect both modems to the split. Any degradation?
Expert

Yes. You can use a two-way splitter but there will be a 3.5 dB loss

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Regular Visitor

Thank you for the timely replies. Will that effect my download speeds or voice ( who cares) significantly ? Or should I keep the SB8200 on a dedicated line?
Expert

@silver955i wrote:
Got it. Just to be clear. Both modems had to be plugged into a cable line at the same time to facilitate the changes with Comcast ?