Community Forum

Gigabit Upgrade

New Poster

Gigabit Upgrade

hi - I recently upgraded to Gigabit speed and currently using CM1100 from NetGear.  I was hoping to use one Ethernet port directly connected to my PC and the other to an older NetGear WiFi router.  However I was told by NetGear it is not possible to do that, and the ports can only be used for aggreggation.  Is this right? Has anyone used CM1100 in the above configuration?  Have noted SB8200 has two ports as well, can we make this one work per my requirements above?

Appreciate your help.

Expert

Re: Gigabit Upgrade

I've read on other tech help forums that it is capable just like the 8200 is. The first thing to do is to check your rate card to see if it is even available any longer in your area. They appear to be phasing this out;

https://www.xfinity.com/support/rate-card/

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Thanks for the response.  The card does not show any IP address line item.  Any idea if it will be lised as such or otherwise?

Silver Problem Solver

@vinsivan wrote:

Thanks for the response.  The card does not show any IP address line item.  Any idea if it will be lised as such or otherwise?

I have read here that the option is being phased out by Comcast.

I was able to get more ethernet ports by connecting an 8-port gigabit switch to the gateway's ethernet port.

Just google it.

I am just a customer, volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as best answer!
Expert

@RobertWy wrote:

I have read here that the option is being phased out by Comcast.

@RobertWy 

Already stated that in my reply..