Frequent Visitor

Firewall log entries

I have been getting regular entries in my router firewall logs:

FW.IPv6 FORWARD drop , 33 Attempts, 2019/8/19 10:45:24 Firewall Blocked

FW.IPv6 INPUT drop , 29 Attempts, 2019/8/19 10:45:24 Firewall Blocked

FW.IPv6 FORWARD drop, 84 Attempts, 2019/8/18 18:58:02 Firewall Blocked

FW.WANATTACK DROP , 4 Attempts, 2019/8/18 18:58:02 Firewall Blocked

FW.IPv6 INPUT drop , 14 Attempts, 2019/8/18 18:58:02 Firewall Blocked

This is a representative sample. These types of events seem to happen every day at somewhat regular times. 

Please advise me on what I should do regarding this, if anything.

Thanks,

TMG

Highlighted
Expert

Re: Firewall log entries

Don't sweat it. Background internet noise will always be there. Your firewall is doing its job.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Hello EG,

May I ask if there is anything I can do to prevent this? I won't be worried if it's just a few, but recently it has been > 30,000 FW.WANATTACK DROPs per day. I believe this is slowing me down. Can you please recommend a couple of actions?

Thanks,

GS

Expert

Nothing really except maybe you could try getting your public / WAN IP address changed, but as stated, background internet noise will always be there. 

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
New Poster

Hi EG,

May I ask you for the procedure to request an IP change? I briefly searched the support area but wasn't able to find anything.

Thanks in advance,

GS

Expert