Community Forum

Constant internet disconnects and packet loss all day

Frequent Visitor

Constant internet disconnects and packet loss all day

I'm getting 50-100 constant disconnects for 10-60 secs on my internet during the day. At night maybe it only happens 1-5 times. It seems to conincide with hot weather. We have had this problem for 1.5 years now but in colder seasons its only around 20-30 disconnects per day. We've had 10 technicians visits where I've been told the issues was with the "plant" and that the technicians can't help me or that my modem isn't meant for gaming; or they've always said they saw something wrong and then 1 min after they left I disconnecte again. I believe the problem is packet loss from using Pingplotter. Anytime it goes off it shows packet loss on every hop. I've never had internet this bad and I've been using it since 2005. Its not just on games. The internet is completely off for those 10-60 secs and I can't do anything. The current modem is a Cisco DCP 3941T.

Expert

Re: Constant internet disconnects and packet loss all day

What do the modem's signal stats look like ? Try getting them here http://192.168.100.1 or here http://10.0.0.1

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.

Is this a WiFi connection ?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

upstream: 71ab5f3cb52d95d831be8b266eee4dd4.png

downstream: ds1.pngds2.pngds3.pngds4.pngds5.png

This problem happens with wired and wifi connection simultaneously.

Expert

Can't see your pics. Since you are a new poster, they likely need to be approved by a Forum Admin. Or you may need to make a minimum number of posts.