Community Forum

Comcast your DNS is not connecting to windows update server

Frequent Visitor
Expert

Re: Comcast your DNS is not connecting to windows update server

When you say sometimes changing DNS to Google, it hints at saying the Comcast DNS is not the problem. I can use Windows Update server connections perfectly fine on the Comcast DNS. Check your firewall. Temporarily disable it and see if the connection goes through.

Also, some of the people who wrote about the issue in the links you provided, states Comcast nowhere on some of those links nor have some of them stated that their ISP is Comcast.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

I believe that if users are not able to able to connect to Windows Update servers with Comcast's DNS servers, but are able connect to the moment they switch their DNS server to Google's DNS servers or to their own VPN, then the problem lies with Comcast.

If you are on Comcast, in command prompt (no need to be an elevated user), type this:

nslookup ctldl.windowsupdate.com

The output will be:

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    ctldl.windowsupdate.com

This the wrong output, as it should be something like this (when you are connected to Google's DNS):

Name:    cs11.wpc.v0cdn.net
Addresses:  2606:2800:11f:85d:13e0:11e9:1a6:201d
Aliases:  ctldl.windowsupdate.com
          audownload.windowsupdate.nsatc.net
          wu.azureedge.net
          wu.ec.azureedge.net
          wu.wpc.apr-52dd2.edgecastdns.net
          hlb.apr-52dd2-0.edgecastdns.net

I truly hope that Comcast techs are able to look into this and see what is going on, whether or not this is Comcast's problem or Microsoft's problem, and issue a statement.

Frequent Visitor