Community Forum

Cancel Uverse before doing Xfinity self install?

Frequent Visitor

Cancel Uverse before doing Xfinity self install?

Hi everyone, I just received my self install kit and my service is scheduled to start on Friday 8/16. I still have AT&T Uverse. Do I need to cancel Uverse before Friday 8/16 or can Uverse remain active during the self install? I will be using the same coax cable that's currently connected to the Uverse gateway. Thanks in advance!

Expert

Re: Cancel Uverse before doing Xfinity self install?

2 services can't come over the same coax feed. If your prior U-Verse service is coax cable (typically it is DSL through phone lines), it needs to be disconnected from their feed and a live Comcast coax feed needs to be connected.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

@EG

Thanks for the reply. I guess I'll have AT&T disconnect service before I do the install. 

Here's my AT&T gateway. It's a Motorola NVG589. The coax cable is for HPNA, whatever that is. The smaller cable going to the green port is for DSL. Both cables come out of the same wall plate. I'm thinking I can use the coax cable for Xfinity. I'm not sure if this is the line that will be activated by Xfinity or not.

Screenshot_20190814-230225_Gallery.jpg

I read that if your home had Comcast service in the past then the "self install kit" will be an option during checkout.  Since I had that option, does it mean Comcast/Xfinity just needs to flip a "switch" to turn on the service? It just had me thinking maybe I should've gotten a technician to come out in case he needs to hook up a cable outside to activate the service.

Frequent Visitor

Hmmm...the picure I inserted didn't show up so I uploaded it to my Google drive.