Community Forum

Cable Modem - High Corrected and Uncorrectables - Solution

Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Cable Modem - High Corrected and Uncorrectables - Solution

I'm an electrical engineer (digital signal processing being my emphasis), and I've been investigating the cause of these particular errors on the "Status" page of my SB6183. I have a single line that feeds my apartment, a splitter, an X1 box connected to one port, and my modem connected to the other. My signal levels and SNR were always good, so the errors were a mystery.

Before I say what fixed this issue for me, let me mention the solutions I attempted that did NOT work.

1. Replacing my SB6183 with another.

2. Placing a MoCA between the splitter and the modem.

3. Placing a MoCA filter on the main line before the split.

4. Swapping out all cables.

5. Replacing the splitter with another.

5. Probably a couple of other things that others had mentioned on this forum.

Now, what did work.

Place a MoCA filter between the splitter and the X1 STB.

That's all there is to it. It seems counter-intuitive, but the interference was coming from the X1 box's upstream output. Not sure if it was legitimite frequency interference or some kind of noise, but I was getting thousands of errors a day (especially on high frequency channels) but now I'm getting absolutely zero.

Again, put a MoCA filter directly in-line with the X1 box(es) AFTER the splitter.

I hope someone finds this information useful.

Best Regards,

OCD Signal Guy

Diamond Problem Solver

Re: Cable Modem - High Corrected and Uncorrectables - Solution

Glad you found a solution for yourself but if someone had multiple X1 boxes, that solution cuts off communication between the X1 boxes. Probably the better solution (and you can try it) is putting the moca filter right on the modem itself.

I am a Retired Official Comcast Employee
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.