Community Forum

CM1000

Frequent Visitor

CM1000

Could you provide feedback on my modem's  (Netgear CM1000) signal levels?  I have Gigabit Internet service, but am only getting consistently around 550Mbps; however, my uploads are dramatically improved since the upgrade.  Thanks for your time and efforts!

screencapture-192-168-100-1-2019-01-25-11_21_31.png

Expert

Re: CM1000

The downstream power is very high ! Is there an amplifier on the coax line leading to the modem ? If so, try removing it and see what happens. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

Thanks so much for your response.  I checked, and sure enough there was an amplifier on the line.  I removed the amplifier, unfortunately my speed did not increase.  I've included my updated power levels and event log.  Thanks again!

Here's the links in case the images don't display correctly:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/161875446@N03/1DjGf1

https://flic.kr/p/2djHB1f

screencapture-192-168-100-1-2019-01-25-17_52_48.pngscreencapture-192-168-100-1-2019-01-26-08_13_57.png

Expert

Your signals are just about perfect now. There is a gigabit troubleshooting guide here: https://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Your-Home-Network/Troubleshooting-Gigabit-internet-speeds/td-p/3145413...

You might want to give that a try.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Frequent Visitor

Thanks so much for time and reply!  I will complete the steps identified in the troubleshooting guide.  In the meantime, are any of the items in my event log an issue?

Thanks again!

Highlighted
Expert

@cbears1 wrote: