Community Forum

Brand New Modem/Router already registered to another account.

Contributor

Brand New Modem/Router already registered to another account.

I'm setting my own Netgear C3700 Cable Modem Router up for my Xfinity WiFi and while doing so my downstream scanning LED wouldn't stop flashing. I asked a friend and was told I need to call Comcast to get my modem registered with my account. When I did that, I was told the device was already registered to another account even though I'd bought it not an hour earlier from BestBuy. Do I need to return it or is there some way this is a mistake that can be cleared up?

Expert

Re: Brand New Modem/Router already registered to another account.

I heard of BestBuy repackaging returned modems before. The fastest thing may be to return it.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

Gross, but will-do.
Expert

Please post back with how things go !

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Contributor

I returned it and grabbed a new one but was told the one I was returning was brand new and had never been opened, so I don’t have a lot of faith that this one will work.
Expert

Try it and see..

Contributor

This one isn't registered. The downstream scanning light won't stop flashing though, so it won't connect to the internet. When I activate it will that stop?

Diamond Problem Solver

Do you know if you have a live Comcast coax signal? Have you ever had working service?

I am a Retired Official Comcast Employee
Was your question answered? Mark a post as the Best Answer!
Expert

@marcus2159 wrote: