Community Forum

Arris SVG2482AC DNS Settings

Frequent Visitor

Arris SVG2482AC DNS Settings

This modem does not allow the user to change th DNS settings, it is locked to Comcast. No other modem I have owned does this. Comcast promised a fix for this back in April 2018. Where is the fix Comcast???

Tags (2)
New Poster

Re: Arris SVG2482AC DNS Settings

I am also curious when the new firmware will be released that will allow for me to change my local DNS servers on hardware that I own.  Any ideas?

Expert

FWIW, I personally have never heard anything about them ever wanting to change this policy. You can change the DNS servers in some of the individual network clients but not in the firmware that they push to gateway devices.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Just to be clear, DNS is not changed in firmware, firmware allows the user to change DNS. Yes I can set DNS on each devices, but a feature of DHCP allows you to push settings, including DNS to clients. This is the only router I have owned in which the user cannot set DNS that is pushed via DHCP.

Had I know this I would have chosen a different router.

Expert

It's a DNS forwarder. Firmware can indeed allow or disallow the feature of changing the DNS within the router / gateway device or not.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
New Poster

Basically, by doing this, comcast along with complicit ARRIS is saying that I cannot place my own DNS but instead must see whatever comcast wishes me to see therefore rendering my PARENTAL filters useless.