Community Forum

My Comcast 5 GHz Networkdoesn't show - only the 2.4. How do I get it to show as a Network selection?

New Poster

My Comcast 5 GHz Networkdoesn't show - only the 2.4. How do I get it to show as a Network selection?

Only one of the Networks shows up as available - the 2.4. How do I get the 5.0 Network to show as available?

Highlighted
Expert

Re: My Comcast 5 GHz Networkdoesn't show - only the 2.4. How do I get it to show as a Network select

I assume the 2.4 and the 5 GHz bands have different SSID names so you can identify them? 

What device are you trying to connect to? A lot of devices, especially many IoT and older computers, don't support 5 GHz bands. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Official Employee

Re: My Comcast 5 GHz Networkdoesn't show - only the 2.4. How do I get it to show as a Network select

Good day @RDComp, may you please send me a private message with your service address and ZIP as well as a MAC address. Once I get this information, we can get started on investigating the issue. 

I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Official Employee

Hi @RDComp, have you given the 2.4 and 5GHz networks separate WiFi names and passwords? If not, you will only see one WiFi Name and Password even though both bands are broadcasting since your xFi has a  combined WiFi name and password. 

You can check xFi in the Overview section to see if he has one WiFi name and password. Drill down further and check the Network section > Advanced settings to see details about the 2.4 and 5GHz bands.