Community Forum

Issue with S9+ byod

Highlighted
Regular Visitor

Issue with S9+ byod

Hi, I have an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S9+ that was purchased directly from Samsung.  I went into the XM store to do byod on the S9+ and the guy mentioned after glancing at my phone that the S9 was 50/50 on working as part of the byod.  After looking up the IMEI number he told me that unfortunately the device was not compatible for the byod.  I asked why and he said he didn't know why, the system just wasn't liking the phone.

Does anyone know why this could be the case?  I would like to use this phone on XM.  I've been using an LG X Charge on XM for almost 2 years and would love to upgrade to thise S9+ that I have.

I did go to verizons website and typed in the IMEI there and it said that phone would work fine to bring to verizon.  I know XM is not verizon but it looks like other carrier's would accept the phone just fine.

If I can't do the byod could I just swap the sim from my LG X Charge to the S9 without issue?

Official Employee

Re: Issue with S9+ byod

Hello skarps, I am sorry to hear we could not get your Samsung S9+ activated at the store. I would like to look into this issue for you to come up with the best solution. Please send me your account info and the IMEI of the device in a private message. To send a private message, first click on my name "ComcastTito" and then click on "send message".

I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Visitor