Community Forum

Streaming to my computer no longer in HD?

Regular Contributor

Streaming to my computer no longer in HD?

Up until today I was able to login to my Xfinity account and stream TV shows in HD to my computer, starting today all I seem to be able to get is 640x480. This is on my local network at home attached to my XFinity modem.

Anyone have any idea's what the problem is?

Regular Contributor

Re: Streaming to my computer no longer in HD?

Sorry, using Chrome on Windows 8.1.

Expert

@NormAtHome wrote:

Sorry, using Chrome on Windows 8.1.

did you select an actual HD channel from the guide? some channels do not have HD numbered channels.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

This is from Xfinity Stream https://www.xfinity.com/stream/foryou and I've been watching shows like Manifest and The Resident in HD 1280x720 since the season started and The Resident since last year. Every show I've been watching this season has up until today been streamed to me in HD when I select it from the list of shows. There is no option to select HD or not, when I click the gear icon next to search and go to Playback Preferences "Play Best Available" is set to on. I do pay for HD and have an HD X1 box but often when I'm working in my office I watch on my spare monitor attached to my aux computer. I am logged into my account and it does verify that in the upper righthand corner of the screen; I have tried logging out and back in again which made no difference. My office computer is the only device I stream to and I've verified that by looking again at the Gear icon and "Manage Devices" and it only shows my office computer.

Whatever is going on here is not a problem on my end that I can find.

Regular Contributor