Community Forum

Adobe Flash for Xfinity Stream

Frequent Visitor

Re: Adobe Flash for Xfinity Stream

Yes comcast has to fix it, but it is Google Chrome that is the one having the problem. I can run firefox, Yahoo, Edge and only to tell it once to run it. After that I can click on xfinity and watch without any problems. Plus it is almost two years before it ends. Google Chrome has kinda jump the gun you think. Like 2-1/2 years ahead of time. 

Expert

@datsunrobbie wrote:

I'm sure Comcast got a lot of pressure from NBC to use Flash for DRM, but that does not change the fact that they had a site that worked much better, without Flash, prior to rolling out the current app that is still in Beta over a year later.  Adobe plans to end Flash at the end of 2020, so I'm wondering already how many years Comcast will have no streaming service at all once Flash is gone.

'flash' is only being used to verify the HDCP security of the stream.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

@dmdilks wrote:

Yes comcast has to fix it, but it is Google Chrome that is the one having the problem. I can run firefox, Yahoo, Edge and only to tell it once to run it. After that I can click on xfinity and watch without any problems. Plus it is almost two years before it ends. Google Chrome has kinda jump the gun you think. Like 2-1/2 years ahead of time. 

Are you sure with Edge because MS just implemented what Google did and now you have to reallow everytime you run it in Edge. There is a toggle in advanced settings of Edge that recommends you keep Flash off. No Google has not jumped the gun.

@lizmiranda wrote: