Xfinity Xi5 TV Box

New Poster

Re: Xi5 TV Box

Any updates on IP Control for X1 ? 

Expert

china73 wrote:

Any updates on IP Control for X1 ? 

you can use an iOS or Android smart device to run the Xfinity TV Remote app. Hit the microphone and you can do much of what the remote can do via IP (TCIP)

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

Re: XI5, how does it work.

I was able to get one thru inquiring with comcast chat.  My local office told me they had none available.  But their service tech has them and been installing them on new x1 installs when requested.  So i asked for an outlet to be installed in my living room and asked about the xi5.  The agent told me they were available in my area (Flint,Mi) and the tech will be able come out.  This all happen on the same day.  The comcast tech told me they been installing the xi5 in my area since May.  Wondering what kind of charge will i get since the original request to install an outlet is $60

New Poster

xi5 wireless cable box is not ready for primetime

Very frustrated with the xi5 wireless cable box. It works for 1-2 weeks, & then doesn't. For no apparent reason. They can't seem to fix the problem remotely, so requires a tech visit.  The second box in a month has just stopped working.  Next stop, billing department.  Charging for equipment that doesn't work reliably for more than 2 weeks....

Most Valued Poster

Re: xi5 wireless cable box is not ready for primetime

I would say about 99% of the folks here do not have the xi5 available in their area and have no idea if and when they ever will get it so we can be of no help as we have never seen one.  I tried to get one about 3 months ago or so and was told it is a no no in my area.  

New Poster