Community Forum

Xfinity 4k - XG1v4 Cable Box Availability

Regular Contributor

Re: XG1v4 TV Box

I want to try the XG1v4-

1. Is a Comcast provided MODEM required in order to utilize the XG1v4 ?

2. Are the tv channels delivered via COAX signal or Network/Internet/IP ?

3. I currently have 3x cablecard PC tuners. Can I ADD the XG1v4 and keep the cablecard tuners?

Official Employee

1. No, just Comcast internet
2. Coax
3. Yes, it will add the cost of a dvr to what you have

I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Expert

Re: Need to swap HD DVR for Arris XG1v4 4K DVR

wrote:
Anyone?

scroll up a few posts to one by ComcastElla and follow her post's directions to get the 4k DVR.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Regular Contributor

wrote:
2. Coax

Thanks!

Regular Contributor

wrote:
2. Coax

I have Comcast internet but just curious as to why the xg1v4 requires internet if signal is delivered by coax? 

P.S. I would love it if there was a picture upgrade somehow . I have an LG Oled 4k and the local channels look better on my attic antenna than the box.

Official Employee

The internet requirement is for X1 platform in general, not just XG1V4. Netflix, Pandora and other Internet apps use the Internet (thus the label)

Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: CARE, Product, Leadership. We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Expert

wrote:

wrote:
2. Coax

I have Comcast internet but just curious as to why the xg1v4 requires internet if signal is delivered by coax?