Community Forum

XG1-P vs XG1-A

Contributor

XG1-P vs XG1-A

Hello,

I am relatively new to the X1 system. Just got my first X1 box last week. Generally, I really like the service, but I don't like the DVR. I received an XG1-P (v3). I have noticed that it is very loud, and I am not usually sensitive to these things. It sounds like an old school tower computer on a hot summer day.  It has also given me some errors when trying to play on demand programming. I have read the comparisons on this forum between the XG1-A and XG1-P and have found the information to be very helpful and consistent with my experience. I appreciate everyone who has compiled the information and made it available on these forums.

My question is, how do get an XG1-A box? I have tried working through my local Comcast service centers and they only seem to have the XG1-P v3 (although ironically one service center has the XG1-A as the display model). I have also tried to contact customer service but can't get them to bump me to tier 2 support. It seems like people on this forum have had some success and I would appreciate any advice. I'd also appreciate if the Comcast representatives on the forum (who seem to be incredibly responsive) would assist as well. 

Gold Problem Solver

Re: XG1-P vs XG1-A

dwrexv1307 wrote:

Hello,

I am relatively new to the X1 system. Just got my first X1 box last week. Generally, I really like the service, but I don't like the DVR. I received an XG1-P (v3). I have noticed that it is very loud, and I am not usually sensitive to these things. It's sounds like an old school tower computer on a hot summer day.  It has also given me some errors when trying to play on demand programming. I have read the comparisons on this forum between the XG1-A and XG1-P and have found the information to be very helpful and consistent with my experience. I appreciate everyone who has compiled the information and made it available on these forums.