Community Forum

X1 video freezes, does not respond to remote. Audio continues to play

Frequent Visitor

Re: X1 video freezes, does not respond to remote. Audio continues to play

I am going to have to switch to FIOS. this happens 2 or 3 times a week.
Expert

@Vplus wrote:

anytime audio continues to play while video is frozen it is an HDMI issue (HDCP handshake error encountered). You might try swapping the HDMI cable for the set top box with any other HDMI device in the home and see if the problem follows the cable or stays with the TV and set top box. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

@Rustyben wrote:

@Vplus wrote:

anytime audio continues to play while video is frozen it is an HDMI issue (HDCP handshake error encountered). You might try swapping the HDMI cable for the set top box with any other HDMI device in the home and see if the problem follows the cable or stays with the TV and set top box. 

And yet others proclaim it is a "signal issue", while still others say it can be caused by oversubscription in a neighborhood. I have this issue periodically. I have had 4 tech visits recently, all of which confidently proclaimed to me my signal was "fantastic". My HDMI cable is not an issue. When this happens to us, we have to restart the X1 box, and all is well.  It could well be HDMI issues, but I doubt it is very often an HDMI cable issue.

Expert