Community Forum

X1 Technical Issues

Expert

Re: X1 Technical Issues

@gboyd wrote:

I have had problems with this X1 DVR since I got it. Every day when I turn it on, it first displays correctly, then, sometimes only after pushing a button on the remote, part of the screen goes black. When I press the xfinity button the guide/selection screen displays in what looks like a standard (640x480) part of the widescreen in the upper-left corner. The only way I have to fix it is to reset the box, which works.

Until next day, when the same thing happens. I think something gets set wrong when it does the overnight updates (which is usually how updates happe)

anyone seen this - or have a fix?

are you using an HDMI cable from the X1 to the TV or 'component' cables? If using HDMI, you might try swapping ends of the cable (this will make sure they are seated and change the pressure/angle of the cable (intermittent connection).

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Gold Problem Solver

What make/model TV are we talkin about here? How old is it?

@gboyd wrote:

I have had problems with this X1 DVR since I got it. Every day when I turn it on, it first displays correctly, then, sometimes only after pushing a button on the remote, part of the screen goes black. When I press the xfinity button the guide/selection screen displays in what looks like a standard (640x480) part of the widescreen in the upper-left corner. The only way I have to fix it is to reset the box, which works.

Until next day, when the same thing happens. I think something gets set wrong when it does the overnight updates (which is usually how updates happe)

anyone seen this - or have a fix?

New Poster