Community Forum

X1 Audio Problems - Stereo vs Surround

Frequent Visitor

Re: X1 Audio Problems - Stereo vs Surround

Thanks Rick. I read first page of that thread the noticed 8 more! In Neal's initial post he states:

X1 set top boxes will check all HDMI connected devices for their surround capabilities by looking at their “EDID” (Extended Display Identification Data). If surround is not available from the end device, the box will force a stereo output. We are currently not showing any messaging when the audio mode is defaulted back to stereo mode if a surround capable device’s EDID is not detected via HDMI. Our goal is to display messaging in future software releases to inform the customer that their end-audio device is not supported for use with surround sound. If an X1 box is connected via HDMI to a surround sound receiver and a customer is still only able to output a stereo (PCM) signal a customer may experience the following.

I'm a programmer of over 25 years though not with audio/video gear. But the bolded bits above sound as if all HDMI ports are polled and then the "end device" is used. Do you know if end device means TV that X1 HDMI is hooked to? If so it seems like the least capable device is used instead of the HDMI/ARC device that does surround. Off to read and maybe get the answer to that along with all my sound questions.

Gold Problem Solver

Neal is super and we miss him in this forum but he was incorrect when he said "end device". You should disregard that. Neal was fairly new to X1 when he said that. If you reread my post #393 and follow it you will see that Neal verified my comments.

X1 boxes auto negotiate the first HDMI device they see. Comcast is doing this in an effort to "foolproof' X1. Personally I think it is a HUGE mistake and I have never wavered from my opinion on that.

Also, please be aware the many TVs do not pass 5.1 audio on the ARC channel...

@gleotti wrote: