Community Forum

Upcoming X1 Updates

Expert

Re: Upcoming X1 Updates

@lightstorm22 wrote:

Wasn't the 6th tuner turned on to accomodate the Xi3 companion boxes, which steal a tuner from the hub? TerriB, you are lucky. I have two of the Xi3s, so I really only have 4 tuners I would think, unless I physically turn off the companions to free them up. I never record more than 2 shows at once though. I would lose another tuner, but my third companion is an RNG150.

might be the stated reason, but TiVo using same cable cards as in the x1 STBs use all 6 so might be competetive. My wife was watching one DVR in bedroom while I was scheduling 18 recordings to test, the scheduler changed channel to use the tuner on that DVR. So apparently the scheduler uses all 6 tuners. I still got some 'subscription needed messages on the last 2 scheduled (fail to tune and msg on screen was icon and ... dots on screen).

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

Set DVR to record a football game today and set it to auto extend. Game went over by about 15 minutes, but it did not record the extra time. Stopped at exactly 3 hours. 

Is this unreliable? Should I just set it to record extra time in the future manually? 

Thanks. 

Silver Problem Solver

Auto-extend has stopped working.  Do it manually.

I am just a customer, volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as best answer!
Contributor

I tried the long exit, down two times, enter on first diagnostic etc., but that doesn't work for me. All I get is a flashing time bar and circle with LIVE in it. I'm trying to find how many tuners I have. Any other suggestions? From what I can glean from other posts I have a Pace XG1v3. 

Expert