Community Forum

Switch over to X1, my story [MoCA issues]

Contributor

Switch over to X1, my story [MoCA issues]

So I've moved over to the X1 platform.  Here's my story.  I'm writing this largely out of frustration, but also hoping beyond hope that someone out there (either comcast of from the community) can reach out to me and offer me some nugget that will help me resolve current ongoing issues.

To start, I'm an IT professional (applications developer) and probably know a bit more about broadcast tech than many.  Not claiming to be an expert, but I'm a couple steps beyond your average user.

I moved to Comcast some time ago from Uverse after a gentlemen came to the house and offered me a package that would save me about $50 a month for similar services.  I got two DVRs (old silver boxes) and one small adapter to handle the laundry room tube TV (yes, we still have one).  The silver boxes over the course of time had to be replaced no less than half a dozen times, so I'm no stranger to Comcast techs & the 800 number.  I guess the good thing there is I can navigate the automated call system like a champ.   Each time a box needed to be replaced, they always offered the option to swap it at their location in New Haven.  Anyone who has ever been to this location knows why I opted against this, the lines are worse than the DMV in some cases.  My suggestion on improving the process here would  be to have two lines - one for people who are paying their bills to avoid having service shut off, and a second line for people who are exchanging or returning equipment.    The box in question was replaced ~3 weeks ago after having what would seem to be hard drive problems (noise and massive lag/pixelation).