Community Forum

Remote Control

Frequent Visitor

Re: xr5 insignia code does not exist

Thanks for the tip, but it did not work. 

Pressed setup till green, 990

green x2

in a second, red,green then nothing

Expert

@awhit3135 wrote:

Thanks for the tip, but it did not work. 

Pressed setup till green, 990

green x2

in a second, red,green then nothing

searching for a remote code for a TV begins with holding setup until LED on remote changes to green, then pressing 9 9 1 - at that point, point remote toward tv and slowly (about a second apart) press and release the channel UP button. each press tries a different code. When TV swiches off press setup again. test by again pressing power to be sure that code works.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

Thanks for the suggestion, but if you read earlier in the thread, I'd done this code search you mentioned TWICE on TWO different XR5 remotes. I pressed channel up well over 200 times each round. 

Either the code has been removed from the library, or there is some deep down hidden secret Comcast is holding close to the chest. 

Perhaps I had an inexperienced tech on the phone. He didn't know about 990 to retrieve the code (but then that didn't work). Maybe I'll try again and get a different tech. 

Expert

@awhit3135 wrote:

Thanks for the suggestion, but if you read earlier in the thread, I'd done this code search you mentioned TWICE on TWO different XR5 remotes. I pressed channel up well over 200 times each round. 

Either the code has been removed from the library, or there is some deep down hidden secret Comcast is holding close to the chest.