Community Forum

4K UHD

New Poster

A year late on rolling out 4K?!

In 2015 Xfinity released it would be releasing a box capable of 4K resolution which has been on the market for over a year now.

Many others are doing this... why has it not been released yet.
Gold Problem Solver

Re: A year late on rolling out 4K?!

Your guess might be as good as anyone else's. However 4K is discussed quite often in this forum and there is plenty of information available on current running threads.

Feel free to use the forum search box if you wish to read further on this issue.

Michaelturner5 wrote:
In 2015 Xfinity released it would be releasing a box capable of 4K resolution which has been on the market for over a year now.

Many others are doing this... why has it not been released yet.

Expert

on another thread didn't someone predict most providers might skip 4k and go to 8k and UHD and ATMOS?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Gold Problem Solver

8K is real and may not be far away in other parts of the world. There were 8K cameras at the 2016 Olympics and 8K signal was sent to Japan.

But I choose to fight battles I have a chance of winning. I have a big and beautiful 4K TV yet Comcast appears to be out to lunch when it comes to 4K (the 4K UHD Sampler app is a joke) so I will continue to research other 4K providers.

Expert

I take that you are still having problems with the Ultra HD Sampler app and your LG OLED TV, Rick.

They just added the 2016 season of "Outlanders" in 4K to the app about 2 weeks ago. The day we left on a trip with MH. I just watched an episode today on my Samsung UHD TV without a problem as usual. I hope they get the bugs out for your model TV.

The Rio Olympics 4K (& HDR) versions are still in the app.