Community Forum

Hi-def resolution pass-through with the XG2v2-S

Xfinity Forum Archive
About the archive project

Xfinity Forum Archive...

This is an archived section of the community.

Content in this area has been identified as outdated or irrelevant.

This change was done in an effort to make the forum easier to use and to keep only the most helpful and recent content active.

Post your questions in the Xfinity Community

Official Employee

Re: Hi-def resolution pass-through with the XG2v2-S

Degraded thread closed.
Expert

..noting.. usa has never had 480i the analog NTSC was 525 interlaced 2 fields each 262 1/2 lines.

I'm a retired TV/electronics tech with FCC General Class License. you?

I am not a Comcast employee; I am just a customer, volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.

If you'd like information about the Expert program, you can find it here(updated).
Expert

@Li-ion wrote:

Rustyben:  It also becomes evident that you don't read the posts you respond to.  In this thread I PREVIOUSLY explained that sports related networks (as an example) chose 1280x720P/30 vs. 1920x1080i/60 b/c of their more typical action/motion content and so gave away the greater detail afforded by the latter.  As far as dealing with interlaced TV broadcast, VHS and Beta tape and DVD output those artifacts were fixed by the likes of Faruoudja and Silicon Imiage i - p processing back in the 90's in order to up-convert 480i/60 to 480p/30 with minimal artifacts.  Don't you remember 480p DVD players and STBs?