Xfinity plant
Xfinity globe
Community Forum

App Request: A DLNA compliant "Media Player" function for home Media Servers.

Frequent Visitor

App Request: A DLNA compliant "Media Player" function for home Media Servers.

As everyone talks about "cutting the cord", Comcast needs to find new ways to retain it's customers, as well as capture new ones. I currently use either my old PS3 or a Western Digital Live media player, both DLNA compliant devices, to stream my video content via my Media Server. I'm not an expert, but I would think that the X1 box has the capability of performing this Media Player function with not too much effort.

Expert

Re: App Request: A DLNA compliant "Media Player" function for home Media Servers.

DLNA is obsolete.  The new wireless STB boxes from Comcast are one alternative when they become available, but I don't think that's what you were hoping for.

Expert

Re: App Request: A DLNA compliant "Media Player" function for home Media Servers.

adding.. they recently took Vidipath off the Comcast Labs menu. I tried to use it but apparently was a closed beta (I had it enabled). Link to feature (over a year old) below.

http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/X1/Vidipath-DLNA-DVR-server-help-and-assistance/m-p/2704817

New Poster

RobertWy wrote:

DLNA is obsolete.  The new wireless STB boxes from Comcast are one alternative when they become available, but I don't think that's what you were hoping for.

No DLNA is still viable.  What has happened is a move to browser apps.  My Synology DLNA server also has a Video app which supports cover art, metadata, searches etc.  Android TVs aka Newer Sony TVs support an Android app with full feature set.  Samsung TVs support a custom Synology app with fewer features.  DLNA works with nearly every TV as it requires a lower hardware and software bar.