Community Forum

XFINITY Stream on Roku

Expert

Re: XFINITY Stream on Roku

@asndad wrote:
For Comcast, yes, it is too much to ask. I have been asking for over a year now. The sad thing is, they even have to downgrade HD channels to SD because you do not have a separate charge on your bill.

that's not how it works. All Roku Xfinity channels are streaming. The various networks send an HEVC (think mpeg5  for comparison to mpeg 2/4) and Comcast has a device for each station and it ouputs in SD/HD/ in various stream bit rates for just in time delivery depending on subscription and available end user bandwidth. The Roku app requests a 'program' and Comcast sends one of the streams to the Roku.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

Rusty, how much discount did Comcast give you for saying that? So, my local channels only send out HD broadcast. Yet, I do not get them in HD on Comcast's Roku app. HBO only sends out HD programming, yet I only get SD. Now on to the real issue. Why is it only Comcast can't "stretch" the SD they send out to fit a standard tv screen?
Expert

@asndad wrote:
Rusty, how much discount did Comcast give you for saying that? So, my local channels only send out HD broadcast. Yet, I do not get them in HD on Comcast's Roku app. HBO only sends out HD programming, yet I only get SD. Now on to the real issue. Why is it only Comcast can't "stretch" the SD they send out to fit a standard tv screen?

no discounts. local channels are paid to send their broadcast via glass encoded by a device to HEVC. at the Comcast head-end-in-the-sky (cloud) the HEVC is handled same as network streams.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.