Community Forum

Roku and Xfinity stream - live tv not working?

New Poster

Roku and Xfinity stream - live tv not working?

I am BRAND NEW to the Xfinity Beta - just set it up today. Had no problem setting up the app in Roku. Looks like it works properly - allows me to search, see favorites, etc. I can click on "Live TV" and see the proper stations and schedules. I chose a channel, then a show to watch live....clicked "watch"...

And the app closed and I was back to my Roku Home screen. 

This happened repeatedly - I tried different channels, different shows. Each time, once I click watch, the app closes.

Any suggestions? 

Expert

Re: Roku and Xfinity stream - live tv not working?

@jlbren2 wrote:

I am BRAND NEW to the Xfinity Beta - just set it up today. Had no problem setting up the app in Roku. Looks like it works properly - allows me to search, see favorites, etc. I can click on "Live TV" and see the proper stations and schedules. I chose a channel, then a show to watch live....clicked "watch"...

And the app closed and I was back to my Roku Home screen. 

This happened repeatedly - I tried different channels, different shows. Each time, once I click watch, the app closes.

Any suggestions? 

this happens sometimes when the databases are not fully updated. to test use an apple/andorid device and the xfinity stream TV app. does it work properly? On mine, I changed to a new contract and a couple of days later got into that reboot cycle. Fix for me was to start from the Roku home menu, highlight the xfinity channel and press the * (star) button on the roku remote and remove the channel. I then used the main home Roku screen to reboot/restart (system menu) the Roku device. when it came up I searched for Xfinity and reinstalled the Xfinity stream beta app and then used the app, authenticated again, and then it worked fine with no more 'crashes'.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.