Community Forum

Roku Stream App and Bridge Mode

Regular Visitor

Roku Stream App and Bridge Mode

The stream app Doesnt work when My gateway is in BridgeMode it gives me the out of home error message please help

Expert

Re: Roku Stream App and Bridge Mode

@Madelinep wrote:

The stream app Doesnt work when My gateway is in BridgeMode it gives me the out of home error message please help

try using it when not in bridge mode, does it work? being in bridge mode should have no bearing on being in home at all as your local IP and routing is still supplied by the modem. Have you customized your router settings (saving a set of DNS addresses instead of using DHCP and having the DHCP supplied addresses be issued to your DHCP connected devices? check the router's internet settings to be sure it is using DHCP for its own connection, and your device is using a DHCP supplied gateway/mask/DNS addresses, etc.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Similar problem here. Comcast sent me a new xfi gateway yesterday, and asked that I switch it for the old one. I installed the new gateway and put it in bridge mode to accomodate my Google mesh wifi network. This is the same setup I had on the old gateway. Everything works great, except for the xfinity stream app on my Roku TV, which doesn't recognize the Google mesh wifi as xfinity, even though it emanates from the xfinity modem. "This device can only access XFINITY Stream on your in-home XFINITY WiFi," is the error message I receive. I have verified that the new gateway's serial number and model number have updated in my xfinity account profile. I have verified that my Roku TV is connected to my Google mesh wifi. I have verified the DHCP.