Community Forum

Re: Xfinity Xi5 TV Box

New Poster

I have an AppleTV. Any plans to allow streaming to them?
Silver Problem Solver

@Merlynmac2 wrote:

No annoucement yet if ever.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am just a customer, volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as best answer!
Expert

@Merlynmac2 wrote:

https://www.fastcompany.com/90205212/comcast-is-totally-ok-with-you-not-having-an-xfinity-set-top-bo...

the article seems to say by end of year-ish

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Contributor

will this intergration do away with boxes altogether?  when they complete this integration, do you think our premiums will be in hd? will linear programming be streamed at a higher bit rate (similar to directv) 

Expert

@Waqas1 wrote:

will this intergration do away with boxes altogether?  when they complete this integration, do you think our premiums will be in hd? will linear programming be streamed at a higher bit rate (similar to directv) 

nothing has been announced. the bit rate is misleading if you are using that as a quality check as an mpeg 2 stream has a higher bit rate but is just using more data than an identical or better quality mpeg4 (talking about the streaming bit rate). the streams received by Comcast for HD channels is in HEVC which a piece of equipment creates all the HD/SD/streaming device streams (depends on quality of the downstream aka capacity as well as any restrictions on bandwidth as used on some cell data carriers (that restrict rate to SD like 480p. 

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.