Community Forum

Lightning HDMI A/V Adaptor Cable

New Poster

Lightning HDMI A/V Adaptor Cable

I’m trying to use my Lightning HDMI Adaptor cable to watch Xfinity from my phone to watch on my TV, but it won’t let me. Is there a setting I need to change to use it, if so how do I get to those setting??
Expert

Re: Lightning HDMI A/V Adaptor Cable

@MuckCity56ACE wrote:
I’m trying to use my Lightning HDMI Adaptor cable to watch Xfinity from my phone to watch on my TV, but it won’t let me. Is there a setting I need to change to use it, if so how do I get to those setting??

the DMA copyright settings prevent that use of TV as a stream to device. a PC is currently the only way to attach the stream from a device other than roku to the TV. a PC with the chrome browser can also cast to the TV with ChromeCast device.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Bronze Problem Solver

@Rustyben wrote:

the DMA copyright settings prevent that use of TV as a stream to device.

I’d like more education on this, if you can provide it.  I occasionally cast from iPhone to TV using this adapter when I desperately want to watch with better than our SD-only cable quality and can afford to not use the phone for other purposes:

1) if this is a copyright violation, why (by and large)  do the TV and cable sports apps allow it?  (E.g., NBC, Fox, ABC, TBS, TNT, NBC Sports, Fox Sports, OWN, several others I’ve tried as long as you supply Comcast acct/passwd).  By denying the same via Xfinity Streaming App, is Comcast implicitly suggesting that these other entities might be in copyright violation?  See NOTE.

2) What does DMA stand for?