Community Forum

I'm at home but treated like I'm away

New Poster

I'm at home but treated like I'm away

App considers my home wifi as away from home, disallowing seeing local news
Frequent Visitor

Re: I'm at home but treated like I'm away

I am having the same problem.  Some live channels will stream but others say I am not on my home wifi.   Also, for the last few days I cannot watch a show as it is being recording because my home network is not being recognized.

Expert

have you checked to see the exact name of the wifi SSID that you are using? if it is your own home's wifi and you are actually at home (not trying to use a VPN) then you should open the Xfinity wifi app and select the internet tab and touch the modem. Does the modem's serial number exactly match your home modem's HFC Mac Address?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Frequent Visitor

Yes the numbers on my wifi app matche those on my modem and I am on my home wifi.  The strange thing is that many channels will stream live such as NBC but when I go to CBS or PBS or some other channels I get the message that I am out of my home wifi.  It just doesn't make any sense.  And I cannot watch any show that is in the progress of recording.  This all began after the major windstorm we had last week-end.  When I went to the Comcast office a few miles away they had the exact same problem on their streaming device on their wifi network. The channels that we cannot stream, they cannot stream either.

Expert

@neisie13 wrote: