Community Forum

Can't set recordings from stream app

Regular Contributor

Re: How do I use cloud DVR on my computer...

They will be thrilled to restore it, provided Comcast pays them Royalties. Otherwise, you can kiss the feature goodbye.
Expert

Re: How do I use cloud DVR on my computer...

@sanibel59 wrote:

Ok, so Rovi is the new owner. I wonder what their stance is on allowing Comcast to restore the app programming function?

Rovi bought TiVo to acquire their IP (patents in this case). They are defending legally the patent challenges.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
New Poster

Re: Can't set recordings from stream app

Well that sure takes away a lot of features
New Poster

This feature was modern and key to my watching habits.  It is extremely inconvenient that it is no longer available, and certainly not only for a "few" customers. Comcast likely could pay TiVo for the rights to the technology but instead they get to have their cake and eat it to by continuing to charge the user for the feature, yet not paying the patent owner--for almost a year now. At least someone is winning in this deal. Please excuse me if someone else has made a similar comment--I did not read each of the 30 pages of log.

New Poster

Re: recording tv shows

@ComcastJK When is this going to be fixed?  We are going on almost a year now without this functionality.  If you can't use your own then you should pay Tivo for it's use.  This is completely ridiculous.

Regular Visitor

Re: remotely set a DVR

Well, that’s lame. Resolve the issue. Fix it. Or, allow us to remote into the DVR. Heck, expose the API and I’ll do it. It’s not that hard.
New Poster

On-Line Recording Setup

Why can't I set up a show to be recorded via My Xfinity Online accout?