Xfinity plant
Community Forum
Xfinity globe

What's a DSL/ADSL filter? Do I need one to fax?

Xfinity Forum Archive
About the archive project

Xfinity Forum Archive...

This is an archived section of the community.

Content in this area has been identified as outdated or irrelevant.

This change was done in an effort to make the forum easier to use and to keep only the most helpful and recent content active.

Post your questions in the Xfinity Community

Frequent Visitor

What's a DSL/ADSL filter? Do I need one to fax?

HP's user guide says I may need to hook up a DSL ADSL filter.  What's a DSL/ADSL filter?  Where do I get one?  Do I even need one?   Please help!  I'm sitting here with my HP Officejet Pro 8620, and a bunch of cords and phone jack splitter thingies from Radio Shack.   Arghh!  This isn't rocket science, is there something I'm missing here?  I may be blonde, but I graduated with honors, and I'm getting frustrated.  LOL, anyone want to trade tech assistance for writing assistance?   

Accepted Solutions
Expert

Re: What's a DSL/ADSL filter? Do I need one to fa

HeatherColorado wrote:

HP's user guide says I may need to hook up a DSL ADSL filter.  What's a DSL/ADSL filter?  Where do I get one?  Do I even need one?   Please help!  I'm sitting here with my HP Officejet Pro 8620, and a bunch of cords and phone jack splitter thingies from Radio Shack.   Arghh!  This isn't rocket science, is there something I'm missing here?  I may be blonde, but I graduated with honors, and I'm getting frustrated.  LOL, anyone want to trade tech assistance for writing assistance?   

You do not need a DSL/ADSL filter to use your phone or fax on the Comcast Phone service.