Community Forum

Comcast downgrading all 1080i HD channels to 720p

Expert

Re: Comcast downgrading all 1080i HD channels to 720p

1080i and 720p are the current ATSC transmission formats. the 'i' is interlaced and has the approximate detail of 1/2 * 1080 or 540 'p' (but still has the motion artifcacts). all source video is in mpeg 2/4/HEVC. Comcast gets your local broadcast signals from the local studios as an mpeg stream delivered over fiber optics to a comcast headend in the cloud location. No commerical broadcast station in usa broadcasts in 1080p.  the Networks are still converting to mpeg HVEC.  digital deliver of streamed content is in SD mpeg2 or HD 720p for Comcast channels. 

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Highlighted
Contributor

Another obfuscative reply by Rustyben quoteunquote expert (!).

Comcast absolutely had the option to switch from "i" to "p" (their announced plan) by delivering 1080i content as 1080p.(1)   That would have saved subscribers from the major picture quality degredation which results from TWO scaling operations.   First downscaling from 1080 lines to 720 (to deliver to customers), then upscaling back from 720 to 1080 (or even 2160, shudder, by the customer's settop box or HDTV).

(1) By instead of alternating as "i" does, delivering every line every frame as "p" does.

The bet they made that most subscribers wouldn't even notice might sadly be correct.  But they lost me.  Their customer service didn't even understand what I explained above, and wouldn't let me out of my contract when I explained that they did this to us.  They did though in response to my FCC Complaint about it.

Regular Visitor

Re: RustyBen,