Community Forum

Upload Speed spotty - No help

Xfinity Forum Archive
About the archive project

Xfinity Forum Archive...

This is an archived section of the community.

Content in this area has been identified as outdated or irrelevant.

This change was done in an effort to make the forum easier to use and to keep only the most helpful and recent content active.

Post your questions in the Xfinity Community

Regular Visitor

Re: Upload Speed spotty - No help

Im just glad im not alone. I live in a subburb of chicago and have had no luck fixing my gaming woes for the past several years.

We need the expertise of EG on here. Im no tech expert but my modem is not receiving the proper power on the upstream channels and i do also remember there being a good amount of hops between destinations the last time I ran one

Im not going to steal your post and post all my info but hoping that this gets somebodys attention........because even one of their techs came out and said there was a bigger issue with the neighborhood signal strength
New Poster

Lets see: More info

Looks like the core issue is with nodes:

be-33491-cr02.350ecermak.il.ibone.comcast.net

be-10577-pe03.350ecermak.il.ibone.comcast.net

Even when doing a test to Google these nodes appear to drop way too many packets.

That combined with odd routing table changes and so on appears to be the root cause. Don't suppose any network techs every look at these posts, do you?

New Poster

How about some more info?

Used Ping plotter and discovered interesting routing information, most noteably that there seems to be some packet loss at a series of routers around Chicago. And that all the traffic to the Twitch ingest servers (no matter where in the USA they are) is being routed through NY for some strange reason.

Tried streaming using restream.io (to bypass that strange NY routing) and what do you know, no issue between /them/ and twitch but still issues between me and whoever I'm uploading to.