Community Forum

Open DNS

Xfinity Forum Archive
About the archive project

Xfinity Forum Archive...

This is an archived section of the community.

Content in this area has been identified as outdated or irrelevant.

This change was done in an effort to make the forum easier to use and to keep only the most helpful and recent content active.

Post your questions in the Xfinity Community

Frequent Visitor

Open DNS

I’m trying to set up OpenDNS on my network to closely monitor all the devices in my home, but when trying to set it up through the admin page, I’m unable to. Is there a way to do this? I can’t seem to find any articles on this anywhere
Expert

Re: Open DNS

Hi @mimijae

If you are using a Comcast-supplied device, you may not be able to change the DNS settings. Smiley Sad Consider purchasing your own equipment if you need that level of access. 

I am a volunteer Expert/Moderator, not an employee.

Frequent Visitor

I purchased an arris surfboard modem. I read somewhere that I can connect both the surfboard and the Comcast Arris TG1682G, and set up the OpenDNS on the surfboard admin page and still use the xfinity admins page features. But I can’t find the forum on that again :/
Expert

@mimijae wrote:
I purchased an arris surfboard modem. I read somewhere that I can connect both the surfboard and the Comcast Arris TG1682G, and set up the OpenDNS on the surfboard admin page and still use the xfinity admins page features. But I can’t find the forum on that again :/

You need a router, not a modem. Once you get a router, connect it to your Comcast gateway and set the gateway to Bridge Mode. Instructions here

Or even better, since you already bought a modem, return your Comcast gateway, buy a router, and activate the new modem and set it up with the new router. You can save yourself the monthly $11 rental fee by returning the leased gateway.