Community Forum

Commscope CSAPDU9VP 9 port Cable Amplifier and topography solutions for MoCA

Xfinity Forum Archive
About the archive project

Xfinity Forum Archive...

This is an archived section of the community.

Content in this area has been identified as outdated or irrelevant.

This change was done in an effort to make the forum easier to use and to keep only the most helpful and recent content active.

Post your questions in the Xfinity Community

Regular Visitor

Commscope CSAPDU9VP 9 port Cable Amplifier and topography solutions for MoCA

Hello,

I am a network technician - I am not very familiar with coaxial cable, but I'm starting to learn.  I realize how important it is to know both now that the majority of households receive their internet through cable gateways.

I have a client with two xfinity X1s, an HD-UDTA STB and an XB6 gateway/router. He has a garage with a guest apartment above it his young adult son uses when he visits, where the HD-UDTA and one X1 are located.  There is a cabin on the property which is where the other X1 is located, along with the XB6 gateway.

The outside service box is located at the garage, which is closest to the street.  It contains a MoCA POE filter and a dual-port 5-1000MHz splitter, with one feed going into the garage/apartment and the other going to the cabin.  The cabin is approximately 100 ft from the garage/POE.

Underneath the house is the CSAPDU9VP amplifier.  The feed from the service box is going into the input on the right side of the unit, and all coaxial feeds to the cabin are coming from RF ports 2-4 on the left. 

Big picture:  We want to have MoCA supplied from one building to the next.  

Current problem:  The amplifier has a POE filter built into the input port. 

So, since the connection to the splitter in the service box (and ultimately the garage/apartment) is coming into the input of the CSAPDU9VP, the MoCA from the XB6 is not leaving the cabin to be connected with the garage/apartment.