Community Forum

Problems getting phone number ported from Vonage.

Highlighted
New Poster

Problems getting phone number ported from Vonage.

Been trying for a while now to get my phone number ported from Vonage. Interestingly enough after multiple visits to the local Xfinity store I've discovered that two separate service tickets have been closed without the problem being resolved. The last interaction at the Xfinity store I was told, "Sir, they can't close the ticket unless the problem is resolved." Yet two service tickets have been closed and my service is easily verified to still be with Vonage.

Overall I'm mostly pleased with the service but would rather take a beating with a baseball bat than to deal with support when there is a change in service or a problem with the service. I'm an engineer by trade and worked on telephone switching systems for approx. 15 years. I'm facinated at the contortions to try to get something resolved. To top that, it's nearly impossible to escalate issues from the first-tier support: no on-line service ticket, no on-line status updates on service tickets, no approval from the customer to close a service ticket, and no reasonable way to get to someone in charge of fixing these problems.

All that said here's a summary:

1. Complete on-line request for "Triple Play" service, adding land line service with number to be ported from Vonage.

2. Spoke with three different phone support representatives to explain that I did not need a "self install kit" and will be supplying my own modem.

3. Modem arrives in spite of #2 and I return the modem to Xfinity store stating I have my own modem.

4. Several days pass and internet service tier changes kick in. I update my modem information and verify that the Internet service is working at a higher speed, though interestingly well below their advertised "up to" bandwidth. No phone service, no blue phone LED on the modem, and still receiving calls on Vonage VoIP.