Community Forum

Nomination for USAF_E-8_RET to continue as an Expert

Nomination for USAF_E-8_RET to continue as an Expert

My thoughts in no particular order in regards to this topic:

• I have never had any formal training in computers. What I know is self taught and I am pleased to say that I am still learning. (Sometimes you can teach an old dog new tricks!)
  • I enjoy being able to help others because there was always someone out there on the internet to help me and I feel that if I can give something back, than I am repaying those who helped me!
  • I am a GURU (Norton Forums' version of Expert) since Nov 30,2011 and my contacts at Norton and breadth of knowledge of Norton Products have assisted tremendously with my ability to assist folks on the Comcast Forum's Security Board.
  • I have assisted with the Comcast Norton Security Suite since 2010 when McAfee was dropped and have pushed for many improvements for both updates and usability.
  • With the upgrade to Norton Online Security for Comcast customers, I am already ahead of the game as it is very similar to the retail products I have been using and troubleshooting for years on the Norton Forums. 
  • I admit I am not well known outside of the Security Board, nor do I post much outside that board, so many of you will wonder who the "Flying Elephant" is.
  • I do try to attend all of the Expert meetings (via Web Meeting) and feel I have contributed honest and well thought out comments to those discussions.
  • I have been a member of this forum since 2003 and have been an Expert since Feb, 25, 2010.
  • I do not recall ever getting into a heated discusion (on the open forum) with any user.
  • I have been accused of providing simple, complete and easy to understand, while at the same time, in-depth answers and instructions when providing troubleshooting and corrective measures.