Community Forum

email audio notification

Contributor

email audio notification

I'm a comcast.net email user and need to know if there is a way to get the desktop version of my email to give an audio notification when new emails arrive. I have an audio notification on my smartphone with Xfinity connect, but no notification on the desktop at all, anything I can do here? Thanks, Ken (I'm on a Mac)

Expert

Re: email audio notification

Are you using only a browser and the webmail interface to access the email?  If so, there is no provision in the webmail for sound alerts.  However, if you are using Mac Mail, that has the ability to generate quite a range of sounds for an alert for incoming emails.  So are you using Mac Mail or some other desktop client like Thunderbird?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

Using a Mac desktop, Chrome web browser, and my Xfinity comcast.net email I don't know what else I can say but I getting audio notification on my smartphone but not on my desktop
Expert

@trkrdude4501 wrote:
Using a Mac desktop, Chrome web browser, and my Xfinity comcast.net email I don't know what else I can say but I getting audio notification on my smartphone but not on my desktop

That's because the Mail app in iOS (if you're using it) has the ability to generate a sound alert.  The webmail by itself does not have that.  So on the desktop, you would need to use Mac Mail to get a sound effect, or maybe some other client like Thunderbird etc.

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Contributor