Community Forum

email association

Regular Visitor

email association

"There is no email program associated with this site." I frequently encounter that message or a similar one when I click on an "email us" or "send us an email" option on a vendor's website. The message always tells me to set my email as a default. My Comcast email is already my default program, so what am I supposed to do?

Expert

Re: email association

What you are describing is called a "mailto:" link.  When you click on one, it searches your computer to see if you have an email client program set as your default, like Windows Mail 10, Mozilla Thunderbird, Mac Mail, Mailbird and so on.  Webmail programs like Comcast email do not commonly lend themselves to this use, although a few, including Gmail have the capability.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Expert

@Latoque wrote:

What you are describing is called a "mailto:" link.  When you click on one, it searches your computer to see if you have an email client program set as your default, like Windows Mail 10, Mozilla Thunderbird, Mac Mail, Mailbird and so on.  Webmail programs like Comcast email do not commonly lend themselves to this use, although a few, including Gmail have the capability.

Latoque, I thought AppSuite now had that capability?  A while back I clicked on no and it went away and I see no way of getting that back.  Was it disabled?

I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Regular Visitor

Thank you, Latoque. Now I know that Comcast email has been wasting my time. If I knew how to mark your answer as "best" I would do so.

Expert