When new update started I was able to delete messages and they stayed in basket until I was ready to get rid of them. Now I am no longer to use the delete basket and I get an automatic message of "do you want to delete permanently" when I try to delete.
You will get that prompt if you try to delete a message from the Trash folder. If you go ahead and do that, the message will go to the "Recover Deleted Items" feature. Is that what is going on?
No that is not a good answere. I cannot even place anything in the basket. When I click on the items from my email for deletion I automatically get the message. Nothing ever goes into my basket. It is always empty. Why?