Community Forum

Sent Email Errors

Contributor

Sent Email Errors

My wife is having a problem with her some of her emails sent to new recipients.  It doesn't seem to happen with those she regularly communicated with.  When she send an email the recipient sees something other than her normal email address firstname.lastname@comcast.net.  The see instead  

outlook_35AE3C49A9CF6477@outlook.com.  So when they responds the return bounces back to them saying invalid email address, undeliverable.  I know this because if I'm copied on her sent email I receive the return and see instead of her email see the one above.  Her email is setup on Outlook (MSOffice 365) as an IMAP acount.  

Any ideas on what is going on?

thanks,

Expert

Re: Sent Email Errors

It sounds like she has the strange address set up as her "reply-to" address in Outlook for the Comcast account.  So have her check the settings for that.

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Contributor

Thanks Latoque but no I already checked that.  I thinking there may be something more nafarious going on.  A few months back someone was able to hack the account add a user name to divert email password changes ext.  I found it and was able to delete the user name, change passwords and turn on 2 step verification to prevent access.  I scanned for viruses, rootkits, etc. but have found nothing.  The  outlook_35AE3C49A9CF6477@outlook.com email doesn't seem to go anywhere since it isn't seen as a legitimate email.  I've contacted echsupport for outlook and they can't find anything.  Am at a loss to know wht to do next.

thanks, 

Expert

@Anon454706 wrote: