Community Forum

Mac Mail Xfinity Password troubles

Regular Visitor

Mac Mail Xfinity Password troubles

I have been unable to get my new xfinity password verified on Mac Mail.  My new password works just fine on other browsers and email app.  I tried deleting and rebuilding the account to no avail.  The error message is that it is unable to verify my password.  I would very much appreciate any suggestions.

Expert

Re: Mac Mail Xfinity Password troubles

Did you try setting it back up manually?  Is the password correct for both the incoming and outgoing servers?

I am not a Comcast Employee.
I am a Customer Expert volunteering my time to help other customers here in the Forums.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark the post as Best Answer!
Regular Visitor

Thank you so much for offering to help!  I've been frustrated!  Yes, I think I am trying to set it back up manually (don't know how to set it up automatically ;-)).   Yes, the password is correct -- it works fine when I log into xfinity on my browser and it works fine on MS Outlook where I changed it successfully and without problem (I have MS Outlook elsewhere).  I followed the procedure outlined on a webpage from xfinity for setting up your Mac Mail.  However, I don't know about incoming and outgoing servers. Where would I address that?

Expert

@pslb wrote:

Thank you so much for offering to help!  I've been frustrated!  Yes, I think I am trying to set it back up manually (don't know how to set it up automatically ;-)).   Yes, the password is correct -- it works fine when I log into xfinity on my browser and it works fine on MS Outlook where I changed it successfully and without problem (I have MS Outlook elsewhere).  I followed the procedure outlined on a webpage from xfinity for setting up your Mac Mail.  However, I don't know about incoming and outgoing servers. Where would I address that?